Black Retail

Greetings readers, it’s been a long time. I have seen something which had caught my attention very recently and was considering sharing this with you.

Notably the spending habits of black people and the ability for us to buy from ourselves rather than someone else. For example shopping and spending habits are difficult to break and it starts with the individual and the community which they come from and are part of.

For example if a person decides to buy hair products from a particular vendor who is not the same race as them it cannot be stopped but if the person looks at why is there no black people who work in a shop where your product is sold, this should spark alarms as you should recognise that if there are non of your own people working in this shop selling a product unique to yourself then why should you purchase.

Another point is we as a race would rather spend in a shop of another race than assist our own in building a business and employment for our own youth. I would also ask can your own teenage child or other teenagers get a summer or weekend job in these shops. If not then why not and what is the colour of the young persons in these businesses.

Black people we are laughed at, I remember 12 years ago as a twenty year old fresh out of my teens not buying from persons who were not black when purchasing food (largely) or cosmetics simply for that reason, I was told I was mad but I stick to my guns. The price was more but I understood why (due to black shops not buying products in bulk and paying more and passing this onto the customer). Don’t get me wrong I would only go to places with decent service, but I am glad any hard food I buy is from a black business.

I challenge Caribbean and  African persons to purchase  from black shops when looking at our own cosmetics rather than an Asian or Arab who looks nothing like us.

Leave a Reply

